1905 Junior Championship

Senior Championship 1907

1908 A.G.M

Senior Championship 1917

Junior Championship 1936

Clonusker Team

A brief history of Scariff Hurling Club

There is very little record of the earliest years of Scariff Hurling Club. However it seems the club got off the ground in the late 1890s. From the begining Scariff was almost certainly a senior club - but we must wait until 1907 when Scariff played in and won their first senior county final. On that historic day their opponents were O'Callaghans Mills and Scariff had a relatively easy victory. An interesting fact of this game was that Tom McInerney, who later distinguished himself in the Scariff colors lined out for his native Mills.

The 1907 team was:-

J. Thornthon, T. Flannery, W. Flannery, J. Ryan, P. Bugler, J. Wiley, M. Wiley, D. White, M. Duggan, M. Gleeson, P. Keane, D. Hannon, M. Corbett, T. Jones, W. Jones, M. Tuohy and M. Melody.

Ten years later in 1917 Scariff won their second county title. This win has been somewhat controversial, however at the 1980 Co. Convention the record books were finally put right and Scariff were awarded the honor. Scariff beat Ballycar who were the second Newmarket team, at the Semi final stage. In the other Semi final Newmarket beat the hot favorites Feakle. Scariff emerged victorious in the final. In 1917 Tom McInerney was playing for Scariff.

The 1917 team was:-

E. Fennessey, T. Duggan, P. Horan, D, Treacy, H. Bugler, D. Flannery, M. McNamara, M. Wiley, T. McInerney, J. Long, J. Minogue, P. Hannon,a J. Touhy, J. Nugent and M. Thornthon.

Scariff were beaten in the final of 1918 by the Mills, and in 1919 by Clonlara. the 1920's were quite years for Scariff, but in the early 1930's it captured a Minor title. in 1936 Scariff won the Junior championship and in 1938 captured its one and only Intermediate title beating Ennis Rovers. Scariff were now back in the Senior ranks, however it had to suffer the disappointment of losing the 1942 and 43 county finals. Scariff were consoled to some extent however by winning the Clare Cup of 1942. In 1946 Scariff again emerged as County Champions beating Feakle by one point in a famous and thrilling final. this game has become part of hurling folklore in Scariff and incidents from the match and well as tales of happenings on the way to Tulla are still discussed in various hostelries in East Clare.

The team which brought that '46 title to Scariff was:-

D. McInerney, F. McInerney, P. Rodgers, R. Cosgrave, T. Minogue, K. Nugent, J. Fennessy, M. Moloney, D. Carroll, P. Minogue, J. Whelan, P. Walsh, J. Durack, A. O'Brien, J.J. Bugler and Sub: A. McInerney.

Scariff reached the Semi final stage in each of the following four years but lost on each occasion. The club won the Clare Cup again in 1950. It was in 1952 that success came again with a win in the County final, beating Sixmilebridge.

The 1952 team was:

D. McInerney, F. McInerney, P. Rodgers, K. Nugent, J. Fennessy, M. Moloney, D. Carroll, P. Walsh, J.J. Bugler, Me. Melody, H. O'Meara, V. Henchy, S. Grady, B. Rodgers and P. Sexton.

Despite being the holders Scariff were given very little chance of holding on to their title in 1953 when they faced a strong Newmarket team in the final. Scariff have always played better as underdogs and so it was on this occasion that they roundly defeated Newmarket by 5-2 to 3-7.

The Line up 1953 was:- D. McInerney, F. McInerney, E.O'Donnell , J. Fennessy, M. Guilfoyle , D. Carroll, P. Walsh, J.J. Bugler, M. Melody, M. Rodgers, H. O'Meara, V. Henchy, J. Walsh and P. Sexton

In 1960 Scariff were beaten by Ruan in the Co. final and by Whitegate in the Clare Cup final. In 1962 Scariff captured a Minor title.

The sixties saw Scariff fall somewhat from the glorious heights scaled in the forties and fifties and by the end of the decade Scariff were playing Junior Hurling. The early seventies saw a resurgence when in 1971 Scariff defeated Clarecastle to win the Junior Championship. Since the early seventies there has been great emphasis on youth involvement in the club. This bore fruit in 1973 when the minor team won the Minor B League and Championship. In 1977 the Minor Championship was again won and in 1978 the Under 21B title came. The Club battled hard to win the Intermediate championship but were beaten had